Seven of Cups


Key words

Upright: enticement, temptation, wishful thinking, diversion

Reversed: determination, decision, searching for purpose


Seven chalices float atop clouds, each holding a “gift”: a beautiful face, a shrouded figure, a snake, a castle, a pile of jewels, a laurel wreath, and a dragon. The contents of the seven cups represent the seven deadly sins: lust, pride, envy, greed, gluttony, sloth (think: “resting on one’s laurels), and rage. A silhouetted figure contemplates the offerings brought forth by the seven cups. The clouds prevent the figure from clearly and fully seeing the choices available and what they represent. 


7: Wisdom, introspection, understanding, stagnation

Seven of Cups Upright

You have many choices available to you— take time to consider all of your options, not just the obvious choices. Make a decision that is best for the long term rather than pursuing instant gratification. If something seems too good to be true, it probably is. Align with your higher self to ensure your choice isn’t based on ego, greed, or wishful thinking. The Seven of Cups can also indicate a need to focus on the present rather than constantly looking forward to “what’s next.”

Seven of Cups Reversed

You have carefully assessed your options and can be confident in your decision-making skills. Trust that you know what is right for you rather than making the choice you think others want or expect from you. If you feel overwhelmed with the options available to you, take a step back and ask yourself what you want in the long term. Eliminate choices that don’t align with your long-term priorities and it will become easier to make a decision.